Alzheimer’s and Dementia’s Funny Side

Many may think I am poking fun at a sad disease, but truly, instead of feeling sad about it, I choose to make it a funny story. My gma and I laugh all the time at our conversations; It tightens our bond.

Gma: Why is it dark out?
Me: It’s 9:30pm at night.
Gma: (looks at the clock in disbelief)
Me: It’s night time.
Gma: It is?
Me: (light laughter)
Gma: (still speechless)
Me: We ate dinner a few hours ago.
Gma: Oh yeah, I remember dinner. But I still don’t know why it’s dark out. (laughs)

Five minutes later.
Gma: No wonder I’m tired and sleepy.

Leave a Reply

