Where Am I Going?

Anyone with aging parents/grandparents or someone with alzheimers/dementia perhaps could relate to the following broken record. I hope you have the strength to laugh at these moments, rather than cry about them.

Gma: Are we going to fix my glasses?
Me: No, we are going to get your hearing checked.
Gma: Not my eyes? I need my glasses fixed.
Me: No, not your eyes, today. Your hearing.
Gma: But there’s nothing wrong. My glasses are broken, they need to be fixed.
Me: Today is about your hearing, next week your eyes and glasses.
Gma: Where are we going again?
Me: To get your hearing checked.
Gma: What?
Me: Your hearing. Maybe we can get your hearing aids checked too.
Gma: But there’s nothing wrong with them.
Me: It’s time for a checkup.
Gma: For what?
Me: Your hearing.
Gma: Why? I need my glasses fixed. There’s nothing wrong with my hearing.
Me: Okay.
Gma: Are we getting my glasses fixed today?
Me: No, we are going to go get your hearing checked.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

